High 5 for Quality - Provider Page

Research shows that high quality early childhood education programs improve a child’s readiness for school and prepares them for success in kindergarten and beyond.  High 5 for Quality is El Dorado County’s quality rating and improvement system (QRIS) for licensed early care and education providers and is based upon well-defined, high quality standards and offers support and incentives to assist providers in reaching higher levels of quality. The goals of High 5 for Quality are to improve the quality of early care and education programs in El Dorado County and to offer parents and families an identifiable symbol of quality.

What is a Quality Rating Improvement System (QRIS)?

A Quality Rating Improvement System is used to assess, improve and communicate the levels of quality in early learning programs based upon research-based continuum of  quality standards called  the Calfornia Quality Rating Matrix. Quality standards that are assessed and rated are organized into three core areas:

1. Child Development and School Readiness

2. Teachers and Teaching

3. Program and Environment

For more information about each rated element and the California Quality Rating Matrix Click here: Quality Continuum Framework Matrix

The higher the quality standards, the higher the rating for the program. High 5 for Quality rates a program on a 1 to 5 scale. To see the Rating Guide click here.

A QRIS supports early learning educators/providers with increased training and support and provides parents/families with information on the type of learning and care their young children receive.   High 5 for Quality . RTT grantees are to provide a system of supports to participating programs to help them improve their levels of quality over the grant cycle.

Resources and Support for Early Care and Education Providers

Participating early care and education providers receive many resources and support as part of the High 5 for Quality program including:

Who is Eligible for High 5 for Quality?

All licensed family child care homes and public and private centers are eligible. Priority will be given to licensed sites serving high needs children.

How do you become involved with High 5 for Quality?


High 5 for Quality Toolkit

High 5 for Quality Important Links